Killarney CCE

You are here: Home// Killarney CCE

Killarney CCE

  • Oct 20,2017

The A.G.M. of Craobh Cill Airne took place in the Meeting Room of the Church of the Resurrection, Park Road on Tuesday October 17th. Cathaoirleach, Eoin Ó Carra welcomed everybody. Secretary, Ann Mangan, gave her report of the year's activities and this was followed by the financial report from treasurer, Gerard Mangan. Once again the branch's financial position is positive.

The Cathaoirleach then addressed the meeting and reiterated the wide-ranging activities of the branch as outlined by the secretary: participation in competitions, namely Ceol an Gheimhridh, Sult na n-Óg, Fleadh Cheoil Chiarraí, Fleadh Cheoil na Mumhan, Fleadh Cheoil na h-Éireann and Spraoi na n-Óg in all of which the branch was extremely successful bringing home many trophies, including All-Ireland trophies.

The branch was also involved in non competitive activities: Trad for Trócaire, St. Patrick's Day entertainment and Culture night.

Our music classes with Nickie and Anne McAuliffe continues very successfully, also dancing classes run by Tríona and Maighréad Mangan and Lisa Hegarty.

A new venture this year was the monthly music session in the Parish Hall organised by Grainne Evans. This venture has proven to be a huge success, with different musicians leading the group each month.

The branch had a 100% attendance record at county board meetings and we had a regular presence also at Munster Council meetings thanks to Geraldine and Maurice Guilfoyle being Kerry delegates to the Munster Council and Eoin Ó Carra being the membership registrar.

All of these activities received excellent coverage due to the outstanding work of our P.R.O. Joan Pollard Carew. The chairman finished his address by thanking all who helped with our church gate collection and all the hard working members of the committee.

Election of Officers then ensued. The following officers were elected for 2017-2018

Chairman: Eoin Ó’Carra

Vice Chairman: Noel Grimes

Secretary: Aine Uí Mhangáin 087-9403508

Treasurer: Gerard Mangan

Auditor: Maureen McMahon O’Leary

P.R.O. Joan Pollard Carew 086-8718819

Youth Officers: Niamh Fenton, and Kianan O’Doherty,

Treoraí na Gaeilge: Eoin Ó’Carra

County Board Delegates: Geraldine Guilfoyle and Linda O’Donohue

Designated Liaison Person Eoin Ó’Carra